D81S – simple SAN visualisation tool

D81S – my SAN visualisation tool, which I develop to build a full map of a Fibre Channel Storage Area Network by tracing all paths from HBAs to storage logical devices. D81S scans SAN switches and storage systems to create a database of all volumes which are accessible by hosts and the same LUNs provided by storage systems.

Two years ago I was working on it with passion, but later I have lost my accesses to most parts of that storage environment. So I’m unable to continue my work on it, so I decided to to share the source.

If anybody is interested in it, I can help to install it on his environment, test or even continue to develop it.

d81s_screenshot

About mezzantrop

12+ years of experience in large SAN and storage environments: mainly Hitachi, HP and Brocade. Now I am a proud SAN/storage IBMer. Redbooks author. The BeaST – storage-system concept inventor. Empty – expect-like tool developer. FreeBSD enthusiast.
This entry was posted in D81S, My projects, Storage, Storage Automation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to D81S – simple SAN visualisation tool

  1. Abdul says:

    can you help me , how to get this installed in my system. is there any power shell script similarly

    Like

    • mezzantrop says:

      Hi, Abdul! You must have Linux, Python 3 with a couple of addition modules and Mysql database to run d81s. Right now, I’m uploading a VirtualBox machine image with d81s pre-installed. It was prepared some time ago for testing purposes. I’ll add a link to the d81s project page (https://mezzantrop.wordpress.com/portfolio/d81s) soon, so you can download it, import and try to run.

      It is Python 3 code which is quite different to Powershell 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.